by Tyronne | Posted on Thursday, May 9th, 2019

Gibraltar Island Games 2019

Bethan Perera

The Gibraltar Triathlon Association has named the selection that will carry local hopes in the first event of the Island Games.

Bethan Perera will become the first Gibraltar female triathlete to attend the Island Games since 2007, and will hopefully inspire other women to follow the pioneers of 2003 and 2007.   As the fastest qualifier, Chris Walker again leads the male team, having competed in every Triathlon since the sport was introduced in the 2001 Island Games.  

But Andrew Gordon will aim to be the fastest Gibraltarian, having beaten Walker in Gotland 2017 and again in the 2018 Commonwealth Games and fellow Commonwealth veteran Robert Matto, the only other survivor from the Gold-winning team of 2013, will at least hope to keep his place in Gibraltar’s top three scorers.

The youth charge will be led by Sam O’Shea, who recorded the second-fastest qualifying time, and Julian Vinales, who at 18 is the youngest member of the Team. Kelvin Gomez, 2018 Duathlon World Champion in the 25-29 Age Group, will show how he can perform after a swim, while Juanma Carrasco will put his local experience to the test in his first Island Games.   Richard Blagg and Keith Laguea return for a second Games, hoping the team can achieve a fourth successive place on the podium.

Full team:
Bethan Perera
Chris Walker
Sam O’Shea
Andrew Gordon
Robert Matto
Kelvin Gomez
Juanma Carrasco
Julian Vinales
Richard Blagg
Keith Laguea
Edgar Harper