by Tyronne | Posted on Monday, October 7th, 2013

GFA Senior Football

Pepe Reyes Cup

AirSoft 01planet Football (158) 206

Last Saturday 5th last saw the Opening match of the GFA Premier Championship

with the traditional Pepe Reyes Cup (last seasons winner v last seasons cup winner), at a packed to capacity Victoria Stadium pitch.

A very tight match was seen between Lincoln and St Joseph’s although it was evident that both teams had some key players missing.

AirSoft 01planet Football (158) 187

The match kicked off with St Joseph looking the much stronger side controlling well in the midfield and having slightly more chances than Lincoln resulting in St Joseph scoring the 1st goal early in to the match through Naufal El Andaloussi.

A tough battle in the midfield ensued with not many chances coming on either side, and from which Lincoln were looking stronger by the end of the half missing out on a few quick counters.  5 minutes from time a free kick from the left side of the area was taken by Daniel Duarte and floated over keeper Macedo to make it 1-1 before the interval.

AirSoft 01planet Football (158) 193

The second half kicked-off and it was more of the same both teams fighting hard in midfield with sporadic chances on both goals.

Halfway through the second half a long ball easy to collect by keeper Perez slipped from his hands and fell to Nathan Santos feet who made no mistake in slotting into the net.

St Joseph looked well poised to claim the title only for Lee Casciaro to chase an Aaron Payas long pass and lob it over the oncoming keeper Keiron Macedo.

It was all set for extra-time with less than 5 minutes to go when a clumsy challenge on Lincoln’s midfielder Mark Casciaro resulted in a penalty.

Ryan Casciaro stepped up to the challenge only to be denied by Macedo, and so to extra time.

After the extra 30 minutes played all remained the same and the spot was to decide.  Again a very tight battle as it went to the 10th shooter before Lincoln could claim the honours.

At the end of it all Lincoln emerged the Cup winners.

AirSoft 01planet Football (158) 420